Announcing our $3.4M seed round 🚀 Read more →

Shared Connections

By sharing database connections with your team, you're making it easier for teammates to connect.

To create a new connection, open the connection manager by pressing Cmd+3 or click Manage Connections near the top center of the app.

Next, click New Connection:

alt text

Enter your connection details, and then towards the end you'll see Do you want to share this connection with your teammates?

alt text

Here's what each option means:

No, keep it private: Your connection details will stay private on your computer. The credentials will be stored securely in your keychain. When your teammates use PopSQL, they won't see this connection.

Yes, except the username and password: We'll securely store this connection nickname, type, host, port, database name, but not the username and password. Your teammates will see this connection, but they'll need the database username and password to use the connection. This helps your teammates get started with PopSQL.

Yes, including the username and password, and from the cloud: Similar to above, however, we'll also securely store the database username and password, and we'll execute your queries from our servers, so your teammates won't have to worry about any connection details. This creates the best experience for teammates adopting PopSQL. If you maintain an IP whitelist, you'll need to whitelist the PopSQL servers that will be executing your queries: 23.20.131.72, 54.211.234.135

Benefits of cloud connections

By choosing option 3, Yes, including the username and password, and from the cloud, your team will get the following benefits:

  1. Teammates will easily be able to start using PopSQL without spending hours/days asking around the company for database credentials
  2. You'll be able to use our web app @ app.popsql.com
  3. You'll be able to use scheduled queries and scheduled dashboards

How to delete a shared connection

To delete a shared connection, hover the connection, and click the dropdown icon.

alt text

Delete for me: We'll delete the connection from your computer, but your teammates will still see it.

Delete for everyone: We'll delete the connection for all your teammates so they won't be able to use that connection anymore. Your teammates will need to restart PopSQL for the changes to take effect.

Security

For information on security, please visit our Security page.

Ready for a modern SQL editor?